Election results Berkshire and Bucks: 14 seats up for grabs in Slough

Reporting Team

Election results Berkshire and Bucks: 14 seats up for grabs in Slough

Good morning! Today we'll be covering the election results for Slough Borough Council, Buckinghamshire Council and Wokingham. 

All three councils verified their votes yesterday (Friday) with counting taking place today. 

In Slough there are 14 council seats to be announced - find out who was standing here.

In Bucks it's the first election of the new unitary Buckinghamshire Council, and it is broken up into a series of wards covering the unitary area. 

Each ward is also part of a wider 'local area', of which there are three in the entire county: Chiltern and South Bucks; Wycombe, and Aylesbury Vale. Find out who stood here. 

In Wokingham there are 18 seats available - find out who stood here. 

7.15pm: Huge win for the independents in Wooburn Green, Bourne End and Hedsor. Penny Drayton, Stuart Wilson and Sophie Kayani have been elected. 

5.30pm: Conservatives hold the Charvil ward and Hurst. 

5.15pm: A quick chat with MP Tan Dhesi and that's it for Slough. 

4.45pm: Conservatives hold the Remenham, Wargrave and Ruscombe Ward

4.10pm: Wexham Lea ward - Labour HOLD 

Iftakhar Ahmed (Independent) - 975

Jagjit Dusanjh (CON) - 409

Sandra Malik (LAB) - 1,073

3.55pm: Ooof another close one in Langley St Mary's. Labour hang onto the seat but there's less than 50 votes in it.

Christine Bamigbola (CON) - 1,131

Julian Edmonds (GREEN) - 261

Baljinder Gill (LAB) - 1,174

3.31pm: Felt as if we were reaching the home straight here but we've reached a bit of a lull waiting for the last three remaining wards. In all the excitement we did forget to mention the result in Farnham ward - Labour HOLD. 

Joginder Bal (LAB) - 1,481

Inderpreet Kaur (IND) - 244

Rafal Trybek (CON) - 361

3.20pm: Elected Conservative councillor Chandra Muvvula said he expected a close fight in the ward and had spoken to thousands of residents on the doorstep.

3.05pm: Results have been announced for the Stoke Poges and Wexham wards in the new Bucks Council

Conservatives Ralph Bagge, Trevor Frank Egleton and Thomas Neil Hogg have all been elected. 

In the Cliveden ward it's three Conservative councillors who have been elected. Kirsten Ashman, Paul Kelly and George Sandy

In Farnham Common and Burnham Beeches, another three Conservative councillors are elected. David Anthony, Dev Dhillon and Nick Naylor. 

And for Marlow - three Conservatives are elected. Alex Collingwood, Carol Fay Heap and Neil Marshall 

2.51pm: Langley Kedermister Ward - Conservative GAIN

A big roar at The Centre from those with the blue rosettes as the Conservatives gain Langley Kedermister ward by the narrowest of margins.

Josephine Hanney (LIB DEMS) - 216

Michael Holledge (LAB) - 1,074

Rizvan Mohammed (IND) - 69

Chandra Muvvala (CON) - 1,111

Tammer Salem (GREEN) - 79

2.46pm: Foxborough's new Independent councillor says her win shows 'it's not about parties, it's about residents and people'

2.43pm: Independent councillor Madhuri Bedi has been elected in Foxborough Ward

2.30pm: It's a head-scratcher for Labour's Langley Kedermister candidate Michael Holledge

2.22pm: We're back up and running in Slough and Leader of the Opposition has been re-elected in Haymill and Lynch Hill.

Kevin Barry (LAB) - 915

Wayne Strutton (CON) - 1,154

1.41pm: Results filtering in from Buckinghamshire (a dangerous word for mis-types) Council.

A trio of Conservatives have been elected at Flackwell Heath, Little Marlow and Marlow South East

David Johncock (CON) - 1,764 votes

Jocelyn Towns (CON) - 1,543 votes

David Watson (C0N) - 1,530 votes

1.08pm: Seven down, seven to go in the Slough Borough Council elections.

12.48pm: An aerial shot of today's action at The Centre

12.43pm: Some pictures coming in from our photographer Ian Longthorne. Naveeda Qaseem reacts to retaining her seat in Elliman ward.

12.31pm: Council leader James Swindlehurst addresses whether he had any concerns about performance at the ballot box in reaction to the A4 bus lane scheme.

12.29pm: Liberal Democrats have held onto the Twyford ward with 1,677 votes for Lindsay Ferris. 

12.17pm: A small delay to the Bucks count underway in Aylesbury with the afternoon session starting an hour later.

12.15pm: We've now reached the half way stage for the Slough elections. Still no results for South Bucks. Wokingham Borough Council begun to declare results, we'll let you know them when the wards we cover are announced.  

12.12pm: Our reporter David Lee has spoken to Cllr Hussain 

12.09pm: Labour hold Cippenham Meadows and Satpal Singh Parmer is elected. 

12.03pm: Labour hold Elliman ward. Naveeda Qaseem is elected.

11.53am: Labour hold the Central ward and Iram Hussain is elected. 

11.45am: Labour hold Cippenham Green and Jemma Davis is elected. 

11.14am: The results are coming in quite quickly now - this is because verification took place yesterday. This usually takes between one-to-two hours at the beginning of an election night and needs to be done before the counting can begin. 

11.07am: Labour hold Baylis and Stoke with Kamaljit Kaur elected. 

11.00am: Labour hold Britwell and Northborough ward with Martin Carter elected. 

10.53am: And the first result is in. It's a Labour hold as Mohammad Sandhu is re-elected into the Chalvey ward. 

10.50am: It's been a turbulent run up to this election - with both parties facing difficulties. 

The Conservative party had to suspend two candidates, father and son Iftakhar Ahmed and Adil Iftakhar for failing to disclose all the necessary information

And Labour were hit with claims of bullying from Cllr Madhuri Bedi who quit the party earlier this year. A petition was set up calling for council leader James Swindlehurst to resign following comments he made about her resignation. 

10.35am: As we wait for the first set of results to come in, let's take a look at the seats up for grabs in Slough. Today there are 14 seats available out of 42 - one in each ward except Colnbrook with Poyle.

Twelve of these are currently held by Labour, one (Haymil and Lynch Hill) is held by Conservative leader Wayne Strutton and one has an independent councillor Madhuri Bedi (Foxborough) after she quit the Labour party earlier this year. 

Seven councillors will be announced this morning, with the following seven announced this afternoon. Reporter David Lee is in Slough to follow the action. 

9.55am: The Slough election count has begun at The Centre in Farnham Way. The Wokingham Count has also just got underway at Loddon Valley Leisure Centre. No word on Bucks yet though counting was due to start at 9.30am. 

9.35am: Locations for the mass rapid testing sites have changed in Slough this weekend due to spaces being used for the election count. 

The Centre in Farnham Road will not be available for COVID tests and people are being told to use Slough Ice Arena instead. Open till 6pm. More details here.

9.30am: Yesterday the Royal Borough decided the outcome of the Windsor Neighbourhood Plan referendum - which passed and will now be adopted by the council. Read the full story here. 

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Editor's Picks

Most read

Top Articles