Dropmore Infant School top of the Cash for Schools class

Dropmore Infant School top of the Cash for Schools class

Dropmore Infant School top of the Cash for Schools class

The decision to take part in a charity-funded initiative has seen 37 schools go to the top of the class.

Peter Sands, chairman of trustees for the Louis Baylis (Maidenhead Advertiser) Charitable Trust with celebrating pupils at Dropmore school

The Advertiser’s 2014 Cash for Schools scheme has finished with Dropmore Infant School scooping top spot and a prize of £2,000 and Burchetts Green CE Infant School taking second place and £1,500.

They triumphed after taking part in the token collect initiative funded with a £20,000 grant from the Louis Baylis (Maidenhead Advertiser) Charitable Trust.

The remaining £16,500 is divided among the other registered schools that collected a minimum of just two Advertiser tokens per pupil. The amounts differ, depending on the ratio of how many tokens were collected per pupil.

The scheme was open to all state nursery, infant, junior, first, primary, middle and secondary schools in the news area covered by the Advertiser series.

Mrs Hazel Watt, headteacher at Dropmore school in Littleworth Road, Burnham, said

its success was down to a pro-active PTA and the money will be used to develop an outdoor area.

“We’re hoping this time next year it will all be looking great.”

Delighted Delia Sheppard, headteacher of Burchetts Green infants in Burchetts Green, said the school puts a lot of emphasis on Cash for Schools and students sold copies of the newspaper to help gather tokens. She added: “It’s a very good scheme to get involved in and we’re going to be going for gold next year.”

The money will be put towards completing the school sensory garden.

Peter Sands, chairman of trustees for the Louis Baylis trust, gives the good news to Burchetts Green school.


Thirty five other schools collected the minimum number of tokens necessary to qualify and will receive the following:

St Nicholas’ School Taplow – £1,001.81

Crazies Hill CE Primary School – £998.39

Furze Platt Junior School – £979.84

Cookham Rise Primary School – £876.58

Knowl Hill CE Primary School - £816.64

Little Acorns Pre School – £812.66

Larchfield Primary School -– £807.79

Little Marlow PTA – £778.93

St Peters PTA - £639.56

Cookham Dean Primary School – £611.69

Charvil Pre School  – £591.98

Waltham St Lawrence Primary School – £579.40

Furze Platt Infant School – £571.84

Wargrave Pre School – £465.16

Lowbrook Academy – £399.03

Boyne Hill CE Infant & Nursery School – £388.72

Woodlands Park Primary & Nursery School – £365.33

Maidenhead Nursery School – £354.89

Holyport CE Primary School – £345.63

Courthouse Junior School – £342.89

St Edmund Campion – £339.02

White Waltham CE Academy – £322.40

Holy Trinity School - £314.81

Braywood C of E First School – £296.16

Alwyn Infant School – £282.28

Bisham School – £257.79

Dorney School –  £247.21

St Lukes CE Primary School – £246.26

Sonning School – £235.89

Queen Anne First School – £220.78

Cookham Nursery School – £213.11

Oldfield Primary School – £202.57

Wessex Primary School – £202.06

Hilltop First School – £201.47

Robert Piggott Primary School – £189.43

Editor's Picks

Most read

Top Articles