Champions return to run 60th Easter 10 race

Champions return to run 60th Easter 10 race

Michael Owens

Champions return to run 60th Easter 10 race
Last year's winner Anuradha Cooray (right) will be running to defend his Easter 10 title

Last year's Maidenhead Easter 10 winners will return to defend their titles for the race’s 60th anniversary.

The first race took place in 1953 and had 98 finishers.

This year on Good Friday, March 29, the 2012 race winner Anuradha Cooray and women's winner Tish Jones will be looking to defend their titles against a field of 1,300 runners.

After winning last year's event, Cooray represented Sri Lanka in the Olympic marathon.

Kathryne Bailey, women's winner in the 50th race in 2003, will also be running the 10-mile course which starts and finishes at Maidenhead Office Park.

Race director Ian McKenzie said: "The Easter 10 is organised by the local running club for the local running community. 

"Proceeds from the race go towards improving the road running, track and field facilities and coaching for senior and junior runners and athletes in the borough.

"We also make a donation, topped up by voluntary contributions from runners, to Thames Valley Adventure Playground, which provides essential respite for special needs children and adults.”

Visit to download an entry form.

Editor's Picks

Most read

Top Articles