Don't forget to cut out your Cash for Schools token

Don't forget to cut out your Cash for Schools token

Don't forget to cut out your Cash for Schools token
House captains from Furze Platt Junior School are helping to collect tokens to fund outside dining area.

A share of £20,000, donated by the Louis Baylis (Maidenhead Advertiser) Charitable Trust, which owns the Advertiser, will be shared between participating state schools across East Berkshire again this year.

Each registered school, which collects a minimum of just two tokens per pupil, will guarantee themselves a slice of the cash.

Tokens are being printed in the Maidenhead, Windsor, Twyford and Burnham editions of the Advertiser until March 28.

So, before you recycle your copy of this week's 'Tiser, cut out the token on page 16 and give it to one of this year's participating schools (see list below).

Furze Platt Junior School is planning to add this year's slice of the funds to the £562 it received last year. It wants to replace an outdoor eating area, which has become a little 'downtrodden.'

"Hopefully we'll collect about the same as last year and will replace the covered eating area which is a bit worn," said Lorna Fraser, administrative officer for the Oaken Grove school.

"I will be reminding people to cut out the tokens before they recycle the paper."

She said a competition would be run between the school houses to see which could collect the most tokens.

Last year participating schools received between £259 and £1,489 according to a ratio of how many tokens they collected per pupil.

The 2013 scheme will again have a top prize of £2,000 and a runner-up prize of £1,500, leaving a £16,500 prize fund to be split between the remaining participating schools.

The scheme is open to all state nursery, infant, junior, first, primary, middle and secondary schools in the news area covered by the Advertiser series.

Since it began in 2006 Cash For Schools has pumped £140,000 into the area's schools.

The following schools will be taking part in the scheme: Maidenhead Schools: Alwyn Infant School, Boyne Hill CE Infant and Nursery School, Burchetts Green CE Infant School, Cookham Dean Primary School, Cookham Rise Primary, Cookham Nursery School, Courthouse Junior School, Cox Green School, Dorney School, Ellington Primary, Furze Platt Junior School, Holy Trinity CE Primary School, Cookham, Holyport CE Primary School and Foundation UnitKnowl Hill CE Primary School, Larchfield Primary School, Lowbrook Academy, Manor Green School, Oldfield Primary School, Maidenhead Nursery School, St Edmund Campion Primary, St Luke’s CE Primary, St Mary’s Catholic Primary, Waltham St Lawrence Primary, Wessex Primary School, White Waltham CE Academy, Woodlands Park Primary and Nursery.Twyford Schools: Charvil Pre-School, The Colleton Primary School, Crazies Hill CE Primary, Polehampton CE Infant School, Robert Piggott Junior, Sonning CE Primary School. Burnham Schools: Dropmore Infant School, Priory School. Windsor Schools: Braywood CE First School, Clewer Green CE (Aided) First School, The Lawns Nursery School, Trinity St Stephen CE Aided First School, The Queen Anne Royal Free School. Marlow Schools: Burford School, Foxes Piece School, Spinfield School, St Paul’s CE Combined School.

Editor's Picks

Most read

Top Articles