Magpies hold onto the core of last season's squad as retained list is revealed

Josh Kelly


Maidenhead United have kept the core of the squad which comfortably survived relegation last season and is looking ahead with some optimism to a sixth consecutive campaign in the National League.

Some 15 players have been signed or remain under contract including club captain Alan Massey and his central defensive partner Will De Havilland, last season's top goal scorer Josh Kelly, goalkeeper Dan Gyollai, midfielder Charlee Adams and the influential Sam Barratt.

Manager Alan Devonshire will have a strong core of players from which to build a competitive team and he's already begun to do that with the signings of Temi Eweka, Cole Kpekawa and Koby Arthur.

There are though a couple of players who are moving on who Devonshire would have liked to keep, most notably defender Ryheem Sheckleford and midfielder Shaun Donnellan, who both enjoyed fine ends to the campaign.

The club has thanked all the departing players for their efforts during their time at York Road and has wished them well for the future.

The following players remain under contract or have agreed new deals: Alan Massey, Bradley Keetch, Charlee Adams, Dan Gyollai, Dan Sparkes, Emile Acquah, Josh Kelly, Kane Ferdinand, Reece Smith, Remy Clerima, Ryan Upward, Sam Barratt, Samson Esan, Shawn McCoulsky, Will De Havilland.

The following players are out of contract and have left the club: Dylan Asonganyi, George Wells, Harry Palmer, Josh Smile, Manny Parry, Nathan Blissett, Ryheem Sheckleford, Shaun Donnellan.

Editor's Picks

Most read

Top Articles