Tue, 23
32 °C
Wed, 24
29 °C
Thu, 25
35 °C

Victories and personal bests for WSEH AC athletes at Spring Open meet

Naman Sharma



Athletes from all points of the compass descended on the Thames Valley Athletic Centre on Sunday for the opening WSEH AC Spring Open meet.

There was an excellent representation from WSEH athletes, a number of whom registered new personal bests or won in their category.

One of those victories came from newcomer Jazzy Summer who clocked 10.90 in the 75m sprint. Sam Babis won the u11s boys event in 11.72 and Summer went on to win the 150m in 21.33.

There were more victories in the 100m races, with Kaif Rizvi winning the u17s event in a new pb of 11.71.

In the 200m races the appropriately named Victory Mabanga won the senior men’s race in 24.47 with Rizvi going even faster clocking 23.16 in the u17s race. Nick Mannke was first across the line in the u15s race in 26.0, a new pb.

Ridwaan Omar won the senior men’s 300m event in 37.79 with Jack Staunton taking the honours in the u15s race (44.14).

Race winners were harder to come by in the 800m where Lily Porter clocked the best time of 2.41.24 in the u20s women’s event. Dylan Spencer was in a class of his own in winning the u17s 1,500m in 4.07.31 while Luke Birdseye won the u13s race, following in the footsteps of his grandfather Henry Birdseye, an international distance runner in the 1960s.

A glut of victories came in the field events with Ollie Carroll winning the senior men’s long jump with 5.02m. Fran McLeod won the u20s ladies event with 4.39m and there was a new pb for Oscar Wiking in the u17s 5.92m. In the high jump there were wins for Lionel Owona (u17s 1.93m pb) Taliah Headley Jones (u17s women 1.50m) and Katrina O’Brien (u13s 1.20m).

The throwing events were generally dominated by the WSEH athletes, particularly the hammer which produced wins for Rachel Denton Snape in the u20s (41.72m pb), Francesca Williams (u17s 52.20m), Chris Williams (u15s boys 34.82m pb) and Lucy McCourt (u15s girls 24.22m).

Chris Williams added to his gold medal haul in the shot, throwing 7.71m while Jardae Hodge Spencer took the u17s ladies title with 10.54m.

As expected Amy Holder won the senior ladies discus with 50.41m while Rachel Denton-Snape, Namam Sharma and Alex Stirzaker won their age group events. George Smith won the seniors javelin with a throw of 39.90m.


Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Recent

Most read

Top Ten Articles